Old Penitentiary Joint Powers Board

Board Application
Before submitting your completed Application you can print your application by selecting File, Print (located top left side of the website page).

Minutes (12 Month)By-Laws (PDF)

7 Member Board

  1. Dennis Carpenter (County Elect Only April 30, 2021)
  2. William Scoggin (County Elect Only April 30, 2022)
  3. Keith Miles (County Elect Only April 30, 2020)
  4. Leigh Nation (City Elect Only April 30, 2022)
  5. Sheri Shillinger (County Appointment 2021/City Appointment 2018)
  6. Glenna Kauppila (City Elect Only April 30, 2022)
  7. Ryan Grosek (City Elect Only April 30, 2021)

Old Penitentiary Website Link


The main responsibility of this board is to preserve and operate the Wyoming Frontier Prison Historic Site. The site will operate for community service through its historic significance, tourism, education, and recreational opportunities for the visitors and residents of the City of Rawlins and Carbon County. For more information, email Tina Hill or call (307) 324-4422.


2nd Thursday of each month at 6:00 P.M.